RSS

TRAFFIC LIGHT…OO TRAFFIC LIGHT

29 Jul

Just this afternoon i got home from my weekend campus. under tbe scorch of the sun out of blue i must stop as it was red light. Hard to believe that i must stay on the very hot asphalt for about 2 minutes. it was not that crowded but the line was quite long, i felt that i was baked under the sun. wearing  jacket and helmett i just could breathe very slowly, not just because of de “custome” but also because the oxygent seemed dissapeared already.

it was full of smoke and carbon dioxide, felt like a fish on the land…. I NEED SPACE AND OXYGEN, so i shouted…in my heart, the two minutes in traffic light had turned into the longest two minutes in my life. i wonder what the earth ” feel ” like in the next 40 years, it’s getting hotter i supposed and becomes so torturing for the inhabitants.

i remember when i was child and growing up in Pekanbaru, Sumatera, everyday i must walk for some kilometres from home to school and yeah of course the sun was also “burning” me under, but at least i could breathe freely and consume clean air without “jostling” around with other earth fellas. besides, i would be always walking under the shady trees so  i was not that “toasted” :)) , nevertheless, rite now? instead of shady trees, all that can share the shadow are only big buildings or sky scrapers ( which is absent in Yogya).

i hope i am not caught by traffic light again, as next time, i may be killed because of the heat, pollution, and the heat.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2007 in JUICY JUICE

 

9 responses to “TRAFFIC LIGHT…OO TRAFFIC LIGHT

  1. bahtiar

    July 30, 2007 at 9:43 am

    wes adus ?

     
  2. Abdul Ghofar

    July 31, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Hi lulu! Is it so hot out there in Yogya rite now. I think it’s time to change with bmw hehehe. I happened to read early’s blog and by coincidence I found your name on MY FRIEND. Oh my God…I said to myself. Lulu, I love your blog.
    By the way, how is life there in Yogya? I left Yogya in 1999 and rarely went home since then. Your writing implies you are still in Yogya, and you are a lecturer now. What an amazing life.
    best regard, ghofar.

     
  3. sylvia

    July 31, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Helo Ghofar, so where are you now? somewhere there on the earth :)? how’s da family, my friend pipit who happens to be your wife? hee hee hee, yeah i love yogya in fact, i’ve never tried to work outside there, dunno, just feel like at home here. and i teach at uii at this moment besides, nagging my head with never ending thesis hee hee hee i am taking my master at applied linguistics. anyhow, you are diplomat now? Cool !!! glad that your dream comes true, it feel like yesterday we were at High school. okay, i ll do da surfin’ on your blog, see ya there

     
  4. dyno

    July 31, 2007 at 7:17 am

    Reuni

     
  5. ghofarism

    July 31, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    You might be surprise where I am now. Well, I’ve been living in Dakar, West Africa since Oct 2005, after spending 2 years and a half in Yokohama for master degree. I won the Monbusho scholarship in 2002. It made my dream to explore Japan comes t true. I really fell in love with Japan’s society. My second daughter was born there during my study. Back to Deplu for a while in march 2005, then I was assigned to Dakar Senegal, a world of no where.
    Lulu, if you wanna see Sahara desert, yes I am right here. I dont have much chance to visit Indonesia so far. We miss tempe a lot. By the way, you are doing master now? Is that for interpreting thing? I also still maintain one obsession to take a PhD course in Japanese politics at UI someday. but I dunno…
    Lu, why didn’t you try the British Council Scholarship? I believe You deserve it. I am not kidding.
    How is your father? You are really great, you follow your papa to become a professor. Are you still living in Gd Kuning?
    regards, ghofar. (ghofarism@yahoo.com)

     
  6. sylvia

    August 1, 2007 at 11:03 am

    @hy dyn,
    yeah, ghofar, a.k.a gopel is my old friend, though am not ‘that” old…heu.heu……..heu…………..heu…….kiddin’ pel

     
  7. sylvia

    August 1, 2007 at 11:38 am

    @gofar
    gee………………Dakar? i’ve never imagined you are there. how it feels like being in a place of nowhere hee hee, be save there. yeah i just remember years ago when bahtiar, me and u were chatting in YM, you were in Japan. am happy for your happy family. about scholrship yah i tried once the ausaid years ago but fruitless probably i go for the one you’ve recommended. dunno, life’s so complicated recently somehow i am surprised myself that i could survive with all these stuff, well, life’s like that. then you have daughter and son? bet english has become their first language.

    about teaching, you are rite i think it runs in da family, or is it a curse? hehehe, hope not. can’t just leave it, it’s only about teaching and teaching, amazingly never get bored with that, rather new families, buddies are surrounding me…or so i guess :))
    hey, i think you are more than eligible to take PhD you know. your children will aso get inspired and have de best role model for them , they will be proud of ya.
    but, why UI? why not staying in other country or go back to Japan? i dunno that you are soo desperated just because of tempe hee hee hee
    gofar and early, you people just cannot stay in indonesia rite? always explore this big (or small?) world………….glad to meet u at our beloved SMA AL ISLAM I, probably the place where all da stories begin….

     
  8. dyno

    August 2, 2007 at 1:54 am

    ow…your papa is professor.

     
  9. sylvia

    August 24, 2007 at 7:44 am

    @dyno,
    professor means lecturer dyn, how’s life?

     

Leave a Reply

 
